top of page

Growing up

I was emailing a friend and I thought that I should share what I wrote:

"You are right that I didn't grow up as a girl, instead I was forced to grow up as a boy. I was forced to have my hair cut short, I was forced to be physical and to fight, I was forced to play sports when all I wanted to do was talk with the girls... and if I tried to resist I was punished, sometimes socially, sometimes physically. So I wish I had grown up as a girl, it would have been so much easier than what I did go through then and what I have been through now.

You said that fundamentally I am not a woman and at a biological level you are right, I have a Y chromosome and I can never get rid of it, but please don't think of trans women as a third sex because that really does throw us under a bus. That really would cause a lot of suicides. Instead please think of us as people who through a cruel twist of fate have had a tortuous journey to try and exist in this world, and the best way we can do it is by being true to ourselves and hope others will let us."

Recent Posts
bottom of page